Sonata da Chroma III Apollinaire
11 Nov 2009
Apollinaire is the third movement of Geoffrey Gordon's chamber work, Sonata da Chroma, a three movement work for oboe, clarinet, harpsichord, cello and percussion. This is a performance from the Composers Conference at Wellesley, under the direction of Mario Davidovsky, July, 2000. Program notes follow: PROGRAM NOTES: Sonata da chroma is modeled, somewhat freely, after the sonata da camera of the Baroque era. Like that early instrumental chamber music form, this Sonata consists of several movements of contrasting tempos and textures. The instrumentation follows a similar construction: two treble instruments (here an oboe and a clarinet), a low string instrument (basso continuo, often doubled on violoncello; here cello alone), and harpsichord. In a nod to the modern era, the composer has added one percussion. Unlike the sonata da camera, this work is not modeled on dance rhythms, but rather takes inspiration from the visual arts (hence "chroma"). The first and third movements

Geoffrey Gordon Composer

Welcome to the website of composer Geoffrey Gordon, hailed by Le Monde as "a rising star in contemporary music!"
<March 2021>


Gordon: A Canticle in Shards
Gordon: Lux solis aeterna
Gordon: Bright White Smooth
Gordon: Fancywork
Gordon: La tristesse durera toujours
Gordon: Ink on Paper
Gordon: Shock Diamonds
Gordon: Trio for Clarinet, Violin and Cello
Gordon: Meditation and Allegro for Viola and Chamber Ensemble
Gordon: Concerto for Trombone and Orchestra
Gordon: Abaciscus (for string quartet)
Gordon: Concerto for Cello and Orchestra (after Thomas Mann's Doktor Faustus)
Gordon: Duo Sonata
Gordon: Winterleben
Gordon: FATHOMS: Five Impressions of Shakespeare's The Tempest (with Prelude) for cello and piano
Gordon: Crucifixus (for SSAATTBB and solo cello)
Gordon: PUCK - fleeing from the dawn
Gordon: Prometheus: a concerto for bass clarinet and orchestra after Kafka

Spotify Playlist

Harmonie - an Jenny

Twitter Highlight

Become a Fan

Become a fan of Geoffrey Gordon to hear about new music, videos, event info & special offers.