Echoes of Ferrara I. Aglaea (Beauty)
11 Nov 2009
The title of this three movement work by composer Geoffrey Gordon refers to the town of Ferrara, Italy, a home and haven to the arts during the reign of Duke Borso dEste, for whom Francesco del Cossa (c.1435-c.1476), painted a series of frescoes for his Palazzo Schifanoia, circa 1469-1470. Specifically, inspiration for this work is drawn from the panel for April (del Cosso created an astonishing cycle of twelve calendrical frescoes, the Cycle of the Months, only partially preserved today), featuring the mythical Three Graces--whose names comprise the movement titles--amid an array of lovers in varying stages of entangled indulgence. For his part, the Duke cultivated instrumental music to a degree hardly surpassed elsewhere in early Renaissance Italy, and this, too, is reflected in the April fresco, where the atmosphere of sweet connubial bliss is enhanced by symbols of harmony and aural concord: lutes and recorders in the hands of misty-eyed maidens. (The message here is intentional

Geoffrey Gordon Composer

Welcome to the website of composer Geoffrey Gordon, hailed by Le Monde as "a rising star in contemporary music!"
<March 2021>


Gordon: A Canticle in Shards
Gordon: Lux solis aeterna
Gordon: Bright White Smooth
Gordon: Fancywork
Gordon: La tristesse durera toujours
Gordon: Ink on Paper
Gordon: Shock Diamonds
Gordon: Trio for Clarinet, Violin and Cello
Gordon: Meditation and Allegro for Viola and Chamber Ensemble
Gordon: Concerto for Trombone and Orchestra
Gordon: Abaciscus (for string quartet)
Gordon: Concerto for Cello and Orchestra (after Thomas Mann's Doktor Faustus)
Gordon: Duo Sonata
Gordon: Winterleben
Gordon: FATHOMS: Five Impressions of Shakespeare's The Tempest (with Prelude) for cello and piano
Gordon: Crucifixus (for SSAATTBB and solo cello)
Gordon: PUCK - fleeing from the dawn
Gordon: Prometheus: a concerto for bass clarinet and orchestra after Kafka

Spotify Playlist

Harmonie - an Jenny

Twitter Highlight

Become a Fan

Become a fan of Geoffrey Gordon to hear about new music, videos, event info & special offers.